Johnny appleseed

20160217_113702

Pollan, Michael. 2002. Random House Trade Paper Backs, USA, pg. 3-59

Some points to think on…

The story of my apple:

During my visit with my mom in Edmonton I found myself walking through the grocery store I found myself paying particular attention to the names of the apples in the produce department; Red delicious, Granny Smith and McIntosh. I took a step back and payed particular attention to the process by which my mother acquired that bag that would end up in the tummies of a family of Rez Kids and Elders of Saddle Lake Alberta. She chose one with traits very similar to her-short, round, bright red clothing and sweet, the McIntosh looked like my mothers apple analogue- following my first year chemistry professors base line “likes attract likes” principal of chemistry perfectly. I burst out laughing when she made her choice, she had no idea what I was laughing about but laughed along in an animated laughing fit with me just for the momentary elation found in laughter, we must have looked like a couple of wildling (game of thrones) crazies howling with glee in the middle of Walmart. In the end I never did tell her what we were laughing about, she was all too happy just to join in a tiff of laughter with her son. After that we proceeded to make our way to the elders house where we continued to laugh and learn cree throughout the afternoon-perak(1), Niso(2) Nisomo(second round), Nisto(3) Nistomo(third round), Neawo(4) Neawomo(4th round)- each round crossed disjunction with a story followed by laughter and an aha! moment followed by the next round and the cycle continued until we were a little bit wiser, a little bit happier and a lot more satisfied. We showed our gratitude with a freshly picked bag of walmart McIntosh apples(not computers) and sealed our friendship with a handshake.

The story of the Chapman apple as told by Pollan:

I found the first chapter a brilliant and eloquent way of describing a modern story of domestication through the eccentric Johnny “Appleseed” Chapman. The story of the american apple served as an excellent example of darwinian selection, complete with random variation, differential survival, and heritable traits. I think I inherited my moms crazy and I wouldn’t be surprised if we found some relation to Mr. Chapman. I found it amusing that a “feeble minded or feckless”-pg. 26- could be such a force of sexual transformation, acting like a flying penis, planting seeds all over the country side and under the spell of the ever seductively sweet apple. Now I know where Pollen came up with the namesake of the introduction and chapter,”The human bumblebee” and “Desire:Sweetness”.

 

Short and sweet, just like the McIntosh.

Leave a Reply

